I seem to have found the secret directions for permanently deleting a Facebook account here:
Go to this page:
Click "Submit" and follow the instructions.
Your account will be deactivated for two weeks, and if you don't log in during that period, your account is permanently deleted.
This method is official and should be complete, i.e. no need to delete individual photos, comments, messages or items from your profile or anywhere else on Facebook!